| name | cis-gworkspace-3.1.2.1.2.1 |
| description | Ensure users can create new shared drives |
| category | cis-gworkspace |
| version | 1.3.0 |
| author | cyberstrike-official |
| tags | ["cis","gcp","google-workspace","drive","docs","shared-drives"] |
| cis_id | 3.1.2.1.2.1 |
| cis_benchmark | CIS Google Workspace Foundations Benchmark v1.3.0 |
| tech_stack | ["gcp","google-workspace"] |
| cwe_ids | [] |
| chains_with | [] |
| prerequisites | [] |
| severity_boost | {} |
3.1.2.1.2.1 Ensure users can create new shared drives
Level
L1
Profile Applicability
Type
Manual
Description
All users should have the ability to create new shared drives.
Rationale
By default, when a user account is deleted all the data in their personal drive is deleted as well. By allowing any user to create new shared drives aids in preventing data loss when user accounts are deleted.
Impact
Disabling this feature will prevent users from creating new shared drives.
Audit
To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
- Log in to
https://admin.google.com as an administrator
- Select
Apps
- Select
Google Workspace
- Select
Drive and Docs
- Under
Sharing settings, select Shared drive creation
- Ensure
Prevent users in <Company> from creating new shared drives is un-checked
Remediation
To configure this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
- Log in to
https://admin.google.com as an administrator
- Select
Apps
- Select
Google Workspace
- Select
Drive and Docs
- Under
Sharing settings, select Shared drive creation
- Set
Prevent users in <Company> from creating new shared drives to unchecked
- Select
Save
Default Value
Prevent users in <Company> from creating new shared drives is unchecked
CIS Controls
This recommendation is not mapped to any CIS Controls.