| name | cis-gworkspace-4.1.2.1 |
| description | Ensure Super Admin account recovery is disabled |
| category | cis-gworkspace |
| version | 1.3.0 |
| author | cyberstrike-official |
| tags | ["cis","gcp","google-workspace","security","account-recovery","authentication"] |
| cis_id | 4.1.2.1 |
| cis_benchmark | CIS Google Workspace Foundations Benchmark v1.3.0 |
| tech_stack | ["gcp","google-workspace"] |
| cwe_ids | [] |
| chains_with | [] |
| prerequisites | [] |
| severity_boost | {} |
4.1.2.1 Ensure Super Admin account recovery is disabled
Profile Applicability
Description
This option allows Super Admin users to recover access to their accounts if their password has been forgotten.
The option is not available if either Single Sign On or Password Sync is in use.
Rationale
Allowing Super Admins to recover access to their accounts when they have forgotten their passwords reduces the number of support tickets generated by users, and reduces the amount of down time spent waiting on the account recovery process to initiate and complete.
Impact
The potential impact to Super Admins being allowed to recover their accounts includes:
- The Super Admins are now empowered to reset their passwords.
- The Super Admins will no longer need to call a helpdesk or open a support ticket to regain access to their account.
An organization that allows users to recover their account will realize less time spent by administrative staff working on these tasks.
Audit
To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
- Log in to
https://admin.google.com as an administrator.
- Select
Security.
- Select
Authentication.
- Under
Account recovery select Super admin account recovery.
- Ensure
Allow super admins to recover their account is unchecked.
Remediation
To configure this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
- Log in to
https://admin.google.com as an administrator.
- Select
Security.
- Select
Authentication.
- Under
Account recovery select Super admin account recovery.
- Set
Allow super admins to recover their account to unchecked.
- Click
Save.
Default Value
Allow super admins to recover their account is OFF