| name | cis-gworkspace-3.1.6.3 |
| description | Ensure default for permission to view conversations is restricted |
| category | cis-gworkspace |
| version | 1.3.0 |
| author | cyberstrike-official |
| tags | ["cis","gcp","google-workspace","groups","permissions","external-access"] |
| cis_id | 3.1.6.3 |
| cis_benchmark | CIS Google Workspace Foundations Benchmark v1.3.0 |
| tech_stack | ["gcp","google-workspace"] |
| cwe_ids | [] |
| chains_with | [] |
| prerequisites | [] |
| severity_boost | {} |
3.1.6.3 Ensure default for permission to view conversations is restricted
Level
L1
Profile Applicability
Type
Manual
Description
By default, only allow group members to view group conversations.
Rationale
Conversation viewing can always be expanded by exception for certain groups as needed (Need to know), but by default be restricted.
Impact
No practical impact, since Group members can view conversations in the Group.
Audit
To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
- Log in to
https://admin.google.com as an administrator
- Select
Apps
- Select
Google Workspace
- Select
Groups for Business
- Select
Sharing options
- Verify
Default for permission to view conversations is All group members
Remediation
To configure this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
- Log in to
https://admin.google.com as an administrator
- Select
Apps
- Select
Google Workspace
- Select
Groups for Business
- Select
Sharing options
- Set
Default for permission to view conversations to All group members
- Select
Save
Default Value
Default for permission to view conversations is All organization users
CIS Controls
| Controls Version | Control | IG 1 | IG 2 | IG 3 |
|---|
| v8 | 3.3 Configure Data Access Control Lists | x | x | x |
| v7 | 14.6 Protect Information through Access Control Lists | x | x | x |
Profile
Level 1