| name | cis-ubuntu1604-v200-6-1-11 |
| description | Ensure no unowned files or directories exist |
| category | cis-storage |
| version | 2.0.0 |
| author | cyberstrike-official |
| tags | ["cis","ubuntu","linux","ubuntu-16.04","file-permissions","maintenance"] |
| cis_id | 6.1.11 |
| cis_benchmark | CIS Ubuntu Linux 16.04 LTS Benchmark v2.0.0 |
| tech_stack | ["ubuntu","linux"] |
| cwe_ids | [] |
| chains_with | [] |
| prerequisites | [] |
| severity_boost | {} |
CIS Ubuntu Linux 16.04 LTS Benchmark v2.0.0 - 6.1.11
Profile Applicability
- Level 1 - Server
- Level 1 - Workstation
Description
Sometimes when administrators delete users from the password file they neglect to remove all files owned by those users from the system.
Rationale
A new user who is assigned the deleted user's user ID or group ID may then end up "owning" these files, and thus have more access on the system than was intended.
Audit Procedure
Command Line
Run the following command and verify no files are returned:
df --local -P | awk '{if (NR!=1) print $6}' | xargs -I '{}' find '{}' -xdev -nouser
The command above only searches local filesystems, there may still be compromised items on network mounted partitions. Additionally the --local option to df is not universal to all versions, it can be omitted to search all filesystems on a system including network mounted filesystems or the following command can be run manually for each partition:
find <partition> -xdev -nouser
Expected Result
No output should be returned.
Remediation
Command Line
Locate files that are owned by users or groups not listed in the system configuration files, and reset the ownership of these files to some active user on the system as appropriate.
Default Value
Not applicable.
References
- CIS Ubuntu Linux 16.04 LTS Benchmark v2.0.0
CIS Controls
| Controls Version | Control |
|---|
| v7 | 13.2 Remove Sensitive Data or Systems Not Regularly Accessed by Organization Remove sensitive data or systems not regularly accessed by the organization from the network. These systems shall only be used as stand alone systems (disconnected from the network) by the business unit needing to occasionally use the system or completely virtualized and powered off until needed. |
Assessment Status
Automated