| name | cis-gworkspace-3.1.2.1.1.2 |
| description | Ensure users cannot publish files to the web or make visible to the world as public or unlisted |
| category | cis-gworkspace |
| version | 1.3.0 |
| author | cyberstrike-official |
| tags | ["cis","gcp","google-workspace","drive","docs","sharing","file-access"] |
| cis_id | 3.1.2.1.1.2 |
| cis_benchmark | CIS Google Workspace Foundations Benchmark v1.3.0 |
| tech_stack | ["gcp","google-workspace"] |
| cwe_ids | [] |
| chains_with | [] |
| prerequisites | [] |
| severity_boost | {} |
3.1.2.1.1.2 Ensure users cannot publish files to the web or make visible to the world as public or unlisted
Level
L1
Profile Applicability
Type
Manual
Description
You should control the publishing of documents to the web or making them visable to the world as public or unlisted.
Rationale
Attackers will often attempt to expose sensitive information to external entities through sharing, and restricting the methods that your users can share documents with will reduce that surface area.
This setting is only applicable if ON - Files owned by users in <Company> can be shared outside of <Company>. This applies to files in all shared drives as well is selected, but should be configured as described below to prevent unintentional document publishing.
Impact
Enabling this feature will prevent users from publishing documents on the web or making them visible to the world as public or unlisted files.
Audit
To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
- Log in to
https://admin.google.com as an administrator
- Select
Apps
- Select
Google Workspace
- Select
Drive and Docs
- Under
Sharing settings, select Sharing options
- Under
Sharing outside of <Company> - ON - Files owned by users in <Company> can be shared outside of <Company>. This applies to files in all shared drives as well, ensure When sharing outside of <Company> is allowed, users in <Company> can make files and published web content visible to anyone with the link is unchecked
Remediation
To configure this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
- Log in to
https://admin.google.com as an administrator
- Select
Apps
- Select
Google Workspace
- Select
Drive and Docs
- Under
Sharing settings, select Sharing options
- Under
Sharing outside of <Company> - ON - Files owned by users in <Company> can be shared outside of <Company>. This applies to files in all shared drives as well, set to