| name | cis-gworkspace-3.1.2.1.1.3 |
| description | Ensure document sharing is being controlled by domain with allowlists |
| category | cis-gworkspace |
| version | 1.3.0 |
| author | cyberstrike-official |
| tags | ["cis","gcp","google-workspace","drive","docs","sharing","file-access"] |
| cis_id | 3.1.2.1.1.3 |
| cis_benchmark | CIS Google Workspace Foundations Benchmark v1.3.0 |
| tech_stack | ["gcp","google-workspace"] |
| cwe_ids | [] |
| chains_with | [] |
| prerequisites | [] |
| severity_boost | {} |
3.1.2.1.1.3 Ensure document sharing is being controlled by domain with allowlists
Level
L2
Profile Applicability
Type
Manual
Description
You should control sharing of documents to external domains by either blocking domains or only allowing sharing with specific named domains.
Rationale
Attackers will often attempt to expose sensitive information to external entities through sharing, and restricting the domains that your users can share documents with will reduce that surface area.
Impact
Enabling this feature will prevent users from sharing documents with domains outside of the organization unless allowed.
Audit
To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
- Log in to
https://admin.google.com as an administrator
- Select
Apps
- Select
Google Workspace
- Select
Drive and Docs
- Under
Sharing settings, select Sharing options
- Under
Sharing outside of <Company>, ensure ALLOWLISTED DOMAINS - Files owned by users in <Company> can be shared with Google Accounts in compatible allowlisted domains. is selected
- Ensure
Warn when files owned by users or shared drives in <Company> are shared with users in allowlisted domains is checked
Remediation
To configure this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
- Log in to
https://admin.google.com as an administrator
- Select
Apps
- Select
Google Workspace
- Select
Drive and Docs
- Under
Sharing settings, select Sharing options
- Under
Sharing outside of <Company>, select ALLOWLISTED DOMAINS - Files owned by users in <Company> can be shared with Google Accounts in compatible allowlisted domains.
- Set
Warn when files owned by users or shared drives in <Company> are shared with users in allowlisted domains to checked
- Select
Save
Default Value