| name | cis-gworkspace-6.7 |
| description | Ensure Leaked password is configured |
| category | cis-gworkspace |
| version | 1.3.0 |
| author | cyberstrike-official |
| tags | ["cis","gcp","google-workspace","rules","alerts","leaked-password"] |
| cis_id | 6.7 |
| cis_benchmark | CIS Google Workspace Foundations Benchmark v1.3.0 |
| tech_stack | ["gcp","google-workspace"] |
| cwe_ids | [] |
| chains_with | [] |
| prerequisites | [] |
| severity_boost | {} |
6.7 Ensure Leaked password is configured
Profile Applicability
Description
Configuring and enabling the setting that an alert will be generated when Google detects compromised credentials requiring a reset of a user's password.
Rationale
Ensuring that administrators are alerted when Google detects that a user's credentials have been compromised due to a publicized breach. This is usually because the user has reused their credentials at another site that was breached.
Impact
Emails will be sent to super administrators when triggered and in these cases, the user's password will need to be changed.
Audit
To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
- Log in to
https://admin.google.com as an administrator.
- Select Rules.
- Under Google protects you by default select View list.
- Scroll to Leaked password and select it.
- Ensure that Alerts is set to On.
- Ensure the Severity is set to Medium.
- Ensure that Email Notifications is set to On.
- Ensure that Email notification recipients is set to All super administrators.
Remediation
To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
- Log in to
https://admin.google.com as an administrator.
- Select Rules.
- Under Google protects you by default select View list.
- Scroll to Leaked password and select it.
- Within the Actions pane, click the edit pencil on the right side of the pane.
- Select Send to alert center (This will result in the alert being set to On).
- Set the alert severity to High.
- To enable emails when this alert condition is met, select Send email notifications. Once enabled, the All super administrators option is selected by default.
- Click Review to confirm the values.
- Click Update Rule.
- Confirm that the Leaked password shows an Alert status of in the list.